University of East Anglia doctoral conference 2015

If anyone is in Norwich next week, I will be taking part in a Doctoral Conference hosted by the University of East Anglia’s Education and Lifelong Learning department.

The full details of the conference are below the break. It will be held on the 28th of May, with two concurrent sessions running all day.  There are some great talks in both sessions, covering topics from humour, art, education in Libya, and geeks, to maths and chocolate, the analysis of Seljuk coins, and migrant workers in the Pearl River! I will be presenting my thoughts on Lefebvre’s notion of Social Space, and how this useful model can and should be updated to help researchers consider and conceptualize Social Space online. It’s a vital area of research that can help researchers consider the importance of space online, and how space can impact areas such as actions, interactions, and designs online.

It’s going to be a great and diverse day, hopefully with something for everyone. Hopefully I’ll see you there! If you can’t attend, you can always follow along on Twitter using the #UEAPGRCon15 hashtag.



“Doing Doctoral Research: Your Academic Voice”

Doctoral Conference Thursday 28th May 2015, The Julian Study Centre, Registration Top Floor

School of Education and Lifelong Learning, University of East Anglia, Norwich, UK.

Programme Room 1: The Harvard Lecture Theatre 3.02

08:45-09:00 Registration top floor of Julian Study Centre
09:00-09:30 Welcome and introduction by Dr. Nalini Boodhoo, Head of School
Communication and Education
09:30-10:00 Session 1 Humour as performance and communication: the good, the bad and the grotesque

Laura Tallant (EDU)

Email: L.Tallant@uea.ac.uk

10:00-10:30 Session 2 What is Art?

Rafif Hakiem (EDU)

Email: R.Hakim@uea.ac.uk

10:30-10:45 Coffee Break
10:45-11:15 Session 3 Engaging with the Public: A Natural Step

Mike Brock (ECO)

Email: Michael.Brock@uea.ac.uk

11:15-11:45 Session 4 An Exploration of Factors affecting communication in Brainstorming in PBL at Norwich Medical School

Dr. Pauline Bryant (EDU)

Email: Pauline.Bryant@uea.ac.uk

11:45-12:15 Session 5 Social Space 2.0 – reconceptualising social space

Harry Dyer (EDU)

Email: Harry.Dyer@uea.ac.uk

12:15-13:00 Lunch – Poster display in foyer outside 3.02
Methodology and Education
13:00-13:30 Session 6 Using lesson study to forge new landscapes in Higher Education in war torn Libya

Magda El Abbar (EDU)

Email: M.El-Abbar@uea.ac.uk

13:30-14:00 Session 7 Looking at the classroom environment and on task behaviour following a bout of physical activity in 16-19 year old learners in a FE College

Jimmy Hupton (EDU)

Email: Jimmy.Hupton@ccn.ac.uk

14:00-14:30 Session 8 Behaviour within the sports coaching environment

Rebecca Tuff (EDU)

Email: R.Tuff@uea.ac.uk

14:30-14:45 Tea Break
14:45-15:15 Session 9 Are Readers Geeks?

Alexandra Warsop (EDU)

Email: A.Warsop@uea.ac.uk

15:15-15:45 Session 10 Students’ perception of assessment in professional modules in teacher education in Vietnam

Huyen Nguyen (EDU)

Email: T.T.nguyen1@uea.ac.uk

15:45-16:30 Prizes and Closing.

Prizes presented by Professor Victoria Carrington and Dr. Esther Priyadharshini

Seminar Room “Doing Doctoral Research: Your Academic Voice”

Doctoral Conference Thursday 28th May 2015, The Julian Study Centre, Registration Top Floor

School of Education and Lifelong Learning, University of East Anglia, Norwich, UK.

Programme Room 2: Seminar room 2.02

08:45-09:00 Registration top floor of Julian Study Centre
09:00-09:30 Welcome and introduction by Dr. Nalini Boodhoo, Head of School 3.02
Development and Education
09:30-10:00 Session 1 Exploring the relevance of vocational skills training (formal and informal) in a rural hill community in Far West Nepal

Jo Nair (EDU)

Email: J.Nair@uea.ac.uk

10:00-10:30 Session 2 Access to Inclusive Education

Gabriel De Barros (DEV)

Email: G.De-Barros@uea.ac.uk

10:30-10:45 Coffee Break
10:45-11:15 Session 3 Rural Migrant workers in the Pearl River, China

Fusheng Jia (EDU)

Email: F.Jia@uea.ac.uk

11:15-11:45 Session 4 Standing in the shadow of indirect taxes: assessing consumer welfare in Turkey

Fethiye Burcu Ceylan (DEV)

Email: F.Turkmen@uea.ac.uk

Mathematics and Education
11:45-12:15 Session 5 Two things I like, Maths and Chocolate

Elizabeth Lake (EDU)

Email: E.Lake@uea.ac.uk

12:15-13:00 Lunch – Poster display in foyer outside 3.02
13:00-13:30 Session 6 Analysing mathematical tasks from undergraduate examinations

Athina Thoma (EDU)

Email: A.Thoma@uea.ac.uk

13:30-14:00 Session 7 Using Learning Study as a Research Methodology

Fred Odindo (EDU)

Email: F.Odindo@uea.ac.uk

Affective domain and education
14:00-14:30 Session 8 Arabesque: Analysis of some decorative elements on Seljuk coins

Rafif Hakiem (EDU)

Email: R.Hakim@uea.ac.uk

14:30-14:45 Tea Break
14:45-15:15 Session 9 Death of a school friend, how young people cope and what helps

Bianca Finger-Berry (EDU)

Email: B.Finger-Berry@uea.ac.uk

15:45-16:30 Prizes and Closing. Prizes presented by Professor Victoria Carrington and

Dr. Esther Priyadharshini in 3.02

Please use your voting cards for allocating the prizes and place in the boxes by the registration desk

Follow the event on Twitter: #UEAPGRCon15

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s